Home Assistant Podcast 58 – 0.101, Switchbot Curtain and talking to Stephan

October 31, 2019    1:00:42    Download

Home Assistant Podcast 58 – 0.101, Switchbot Curtain and talking to Stephan

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

State of the Union Meetups

If you can’t make it to the Home Assistant state of the union in Amsterdam, there are a couple of meetups happening in Germany where you can join others watching the live stream.

Starting Times (Local)

The keynote speech by Paulus will be kicking off on November 13th 6:30pm Amsterdam time. To save you the headache, here’s the time in some popular cities

  • US West Coast – 9:30am Wednesday
  • US East Coast – 12:30pm Wednesday
  • London – 5:30pm Wednesday
  • Moscow – 8:30pm Wednesday
  • New Delhi – 11pm Wednesday
  • Perth – 1:30am Thursday 14th
  • Melbourne – 4:30am Thursday 14th
  • Auckland – 6:30am Thursday 14th

 

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html?iso=20191113T173000&p1=137&p2=179&p3=136&p4=16&p5=166&p6=176&p7=196&p8=152&p9=22&p10=103

 

Switchbot Curtain Launch

Switchbot, which is a small device Isabella introduced us to in Episode 25 have launched a new kickstarter for a curtain controller.

The project reached 100% funding within 12 minutes, and is one of the coolest home automation kickstarters I’ve seen for a while.

  • Small robot attaches to your curtain rail and can open and close curtains by pushing them open/close
  • Has an optional solar panel which can be used to keep the device charged

Kickstarter shipping date is August 2020

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/switchbot/switchbot-curtain-make-your-curtains-smart-in-seconds

 

0.101

New Features

 

Breaking Changes

  • API Password
    The biggest breaking change for this release.Before Home Assistant had the concept of usernames and passwords, there was just an “API Password”. It has been possible to keep using this single password moving forward.From 0.101, Home Assistant will no longer accept any requests to the API or front-end which appends the API password in the URL, for example ?=api_password=x

    Additionally the concept of “trusted networks” has also been removed. Where it was possible to make calls to Home Assistant without a password if the request originated from within the trusted network range.

    From 0.101 you’ll need to update your configuration if you still use the legacy API password. Previously the API password was specified under the HTTP component in your YAML file. You’ll now need to setup a password via the auth provider section in your YAML.

    These features have been deprecated since March/April 2019, but have now officially been dropped since 0.101
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27656

  • Python 3.6 Support has been deprecated
    In order to keep Home Assistant available on the latest versions of Python, Home Assistant 0.101 officially deprecates support for Python 3.6.Python 3.8 has been released as of October 14th 2019.
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27680
  • Roku power off state is changing
    Roku TV’s will now report a state of “standby” instead of “off” from 0.101
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/28148
  • New Turn On Service for Ecobee
    Previously, calling climate.turn_on would cause the ecobee thermostat to turn on in heat mode, regardless of the mode when the thermostat was turned off. Now, the thermostat will turn on to the last “active” HVAC mode (i.e. “heat”, “cool”, or “auto”)
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27103
  • MQTT JSON Lights can now specify floating point numbers
    This breaking change might be a bit technical to understand, so let us explain.In previous versions of Home Assistant any calls made to a JSON MQTT light with a transition set would be converted to a round number. For example 2.5 seconds would be converted to just 2 seconds.From 0.101 Home Assistant will now send these transition times as “floating point numbers” allowing half seconds etc to be accepted.
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27253
  • Hipchat and Stride have been removed
    The chat services are being closed down, so these components are going away
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27399
    https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/27934

 

Other Noteworthy Updates

 

 

 

Chat with Stephan

Link to Pressure Mat on Amazon


Home Assistant Cloud by Nabu Casa

Easily connect to Google and Amazon voice assistants for a small monthly fee that also supports the Home Assistant project. Configuration is via the User Interface so no fiddling with router settings, dynamic DNS or YAML.

Website

Todays Guest

Stephan McKillen

Started with Homeseet and x10 in 1999

Home Assistant Configuration

The Hosts

Phil Hawthorne

Phil is a Melbourne based web developer who lives and breathes technology. When he's not at his day job, he’s in his home office attempting to simplify his life through complicated tech.

Website | Smart Home Products | Buy Phil a Coffee

Rohan Karamandi

Rohan from Toronto, Canada works in the Technology sector as an architect designing network and datacenter solutions for his customers. His passion for technology stems from there and extends to IoT and home automation

Website | Smart Home Products | Buy Rohan a Coffee